The Introduction Of FIBA

In this article, we shall be studying ”The Introduction Of FIBA”. FIBA stands for International Basketball Federation. Furthermore, we shall discuss these subtopics: Overview Of FIBA, Background Of The FIBA, List Of FIBA Presidents and FIBA World Ranking.

Now, let’s study the topic ”The Introduction Of FIBA”, properly.

Overview Of FIBA

The sport of basketball is governed internationally by the International Basketball Federation (FIBA), an association of national federations.

However, the organization which had been known as the Fédération internationale de basket-ball amateur, removed the amateur its name in 1989, but kept its abbreviation.

When it comes to basketball, FIBA is the authority. They set the rules, determine what gear and facilities are needed, organize international competitions, oversee the movement of athletes between countries, and appoint international referees.

There are currently 213 national federations that are now part of the FIBA. They are divided into the five zones of Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania since 1989.

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) recognizes the FIBA World Olympic Qualifying Tournament for men and women and the Summer Olympics Basketball Tournament, both of which are organized by FIBA.

Men’s national teams from around the globe compete at the FIBA Basketball World Cup every four years.

The Naismith Trophy is awarded to the champion team in honor of James Naismith, an American and Canadian who developed the basketball game.

More Information

The format of the competition is quite similar to that of the FIFA World Cup in association football but with some key differences.

From 1970 through 2014, both competitions were held in the same year, but in 2019, the Basketball World Cup will take place in the year after the FIFA World Cup.

They hold the FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup every four years, coinciding with the men’s tournament from 1986 to 2014. But, it always takes place in a different location.

Background Of The FIBA

Early years: 1932-49

Geneva served as the site for establishing FIBA, in 1932. This was just two years after the International Olympic Committee (IOC) had approved the sport.

Prior to 1934, the International Amateur Handball Federation oversaw basketball. The acronym “FIBA” stands for the “Fédération Internationale de Basket-Ball Amateur.”

Argentina, Czechoslovakia, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Portugal, Romania, and Switzerland were the initial eight member federations of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA).

The originator of basketball, James Naismith (1861-1939), stood as the Honorary President of the Federation at the 1936 Summer Olympics in Berlin.

Developmental Years: 1950-2019

Since 1950, FIBA has put together the men’s World Championship (now called the World Cup) and the women’s World Championship (now called the Women’s World Cup). This competition takes place every four years.

Each competition took place every two years between 1986 and 2014, switching stands with the Olympic Games.

After 2014, the men’s basketball World Cup began a new four-year round, with tournaments taking place in the year prior to the Summer Olympics.

In 1956, the Federation established a new headquarters in Munich, but by 2002, it relocated back to Geneva.

Meanwhile, they established the FIBA Hall of Fame in 1991, and its inaugural induction ceremony took place on September 12, 2007. This happened during EuroBasket 2007.

In 2013, on the occasion of its 81st anniversary, FIBA relocated its headquarters to “The House of Basketball,” located at Mies. Then, on December 7, 2018, FIBA named Andreas Zagklis as its new secretary-general.

The Banning Of Russia And Belarus: 2020 – Now

Due to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, both Russia and Belarus received a ban from FIBA. They won’t be participating in international events pending further notice.

It also prevented either country from hosting future events. This ban took place in February 2022.

List Of FIBA Presidents

  • Leon Bouffard (1932-1948)
  • Willard Greim (1948-1960)
  • Antonio dos Reis Carneiro (1960-1968)
  • Abdel Moneim Wahby (1968-1976)
  • Gonzalo Puyat II (1976-1984)
  • Robert Busnel (1984-1990)
  • George E. Killian (1990-1998)
  • Abdoulaye Seye Moreau (1998-2002)
  • Ching Men-ky (2002-2006)
  • Robert Elphinston (2006-2010)
  • Yvan Mainini (2010-2014)
  • Horacio Muratore (2014-2019)
  • Hamane Niang (2019-now)

The List Of FIBA Secretaries General

  • Renato William Jones (1932-1976)
  • Borislav Stanković (1976-2003)
  • Patrick Baumann (2003-2018)
  • Andreas Zagklis (2018-now)

FIBA Awards

Below are the names of basketball players that have won the most valuable plater award from FIBA:

  • Men: Ricky Rubio, Spain, 2019
  • Women: Breanna Stewart, United States, 2018
  • U-19 Men: Chet Holmgren, United States, 2021
  • U-19 Women: Caitlin Clark, United States, 2021
  • U-17 Men: Izan Almansa, Spain, 2022
  • U-17 Women: JuJu Watkins, United States, 2022.

FIBA World Ranking

Men’s Team

We shall look at the top 5 national teams in men’s basketball worldwide.

There will be 32 teams competing in the upcoming FIBA Basketball World Cup, which is the most prestigious men’s basketball event in the world.

Based on the formula used to determine the rankings, the list below will display the teams that are favorites to win the upcoming FIBA Men’s World Cup.

Places reserved for countries due to their hosting or regional responsibilities are not taken into account here.

The male teams are:

  1. United States
  2. Spain
  3. Australia
  4. France
  5. Slovenia

Women’s Team

The list below are the top 6 countries in women’s basketball.

To accommodate the expected 16 participating nations in the upcoming FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup, the most prestigious women’s basketball event in the world, the elite 16 has arrived.

Thus, this list displays the teams that, according to the ranking’s methodology, will compete in the following FIBA Women’s World Cup.

Spots awarded to countries because they are hosting or are in a particular region are not taken into account.

Below are the women’s basketball team:

  1. United States
  2. Spain
  3. Australia
  4. Canada
  5. Belgium
  6. France


In this article, we talked about ”The Introduction Of FIBA”. FIBA which stands for International Basketball Federation, is the governing body for basketball, worldwide.

If you wish to gain more details on the topic, research more on these subtopics: Overview Of FIBA, Background Of The FIBA, List Of FIBA Presidents and FIBA World Ranking.

See also:

Leave a Comment